Record Teams Announced For NSWRL 2024 Season

The NSWRL has today released the draws for the 2024 Junior Representatives and Major Competitions, featuring 169 teams, the most in the organisation’s 115-year history.

All up, the record number of teams will be involved in seven Junior Representatives Competitions and eight NSWRL Major Competitions across metropolitan Sydney and regional NSW.

“The release of the draws for the 2024 NSWRL Junior Representatives and Major Competitions is something to look forward to and fans have less than two months to wait before Rugby League starts again with our pathways competitions,” NSWRL Head of Football Yvette Downey said.

“The fact we are also fielding a record number of teams next year reflects the increasing popularity and success of the game for all.

“The NSWRL enjoyed plenty of memorable moments throughout the 2023 season and I expect there will be just as many when the action kicks off next year.”

The highlights of the draws for next year include:

  • NRL club Melbourne Storm will field teams in the UNE Harold Matthews Cup, UNE SG Ball Cup and Jersey Flegg Cup, as well as linking with the North Sydney Bears in The Knock-On Effect NSW Cup as a feeder club;
  • The Warriors will increase their number of teams to four in 2024 from two in 2023 with the Auckland-based club to join the UNE Harold Matthews Cup (Under 17s) and Jersey Flegg Cup (Under 21s) on top of their involvement in The Knock-On Effect NSW Cup and UNE SG Ball Cup (Under 19s);
  • The Knock-On Effect NSW Cup Magic Round will be played across two days at the iconic North Sydney Oval, with one of the games to include the Grand Final rematch between premiers South Sydney Rabbitohs and North Sydney Bears;
  • Fiji’s Kaiviti Silktails moving to the Jersey Flegg Cup from the Leagues Clubs Australia Ron Massey Cup in line with their decision to focus on player development;
  • The Harvey Norman NSW Women’s Premiership to align with the NRLW to increase the opportunities for female Rugby League players with the Grand Final to be played on NSWRL Grand Final Day alongside The Knock-On Effect NSW Cup decider in September;
  • The Westpac Lisa Fiaola Cup (Under 17s girls) promoted to major competition status for the first time.

The NSWRL Junior Representatives Competitions include the SLE Andrew Johns Cup (Under 16s; 10 teams), Westpac Lisa Fiaola Cup (13 teams for metropolitan; 6 teams for regional), UNE Harold Matthews Cup (17 teams), SLE Laurie Daley Cup (Under 18s; 10 teams), Westpac Tarsha Gale Cup (Under 19s; 13 teams) and UNE SG Ball Cup (Under 19s; 16 teams).

The NSWRL Major Competitions include The Knock-On Effect NSW Cup (13 teams), Jersey Flegg Cup (14 teams), Harvey Norman NSW Women’s Premiership (12 teams), Leagues Clubs Australia Ron Massey Cup (8 teams), Sydney Shield (10 teams) and Denton Engineering Cup (11 teams).



Click here for the Jersey Flegg Cup


This article was written by New South Wales Rugby League.