Three Silktails Selected in Fiji Bati Pacific Championships Extended Squad

The Kaiviti Silktails RLFC would like to congratulate three of their players who have been added to the Fiji Bati Train on Squad to take on Cook Islands and PNG in Port Moresby later this month.

2022 Rising Star Winner Watisoni Waqanisaravi and 2023 favourite to win Silktails Player of the Year Sirilo Lovokuro have been officially listed in the Fiji Bati 20-man squad for the 2023 Pacific Championships.

Silktails Head Coach Wes Naiqama spoke of how proud he was of our boys upon selection, and how happy he is that the Fiji Bati recognised the potential in them.

“I am extremely proud of Watisoni and Sirilo being selected for the upcoming Pacific Championships. Having coached these 2 boys since they came into our Silktails squad last season, they have worked so hard and made many sacrifices to get to where they are today, and this selection is a reward for that” said Naiqama.

“Soni has gone on in his time with us to feature with the Rooster’s u/21’s the last 2 seasons, and Sirilo has taken his game to another level with his consistency and some amazing performances.”

“I would like to also acknowledge Bati Coach Wise Kativerata for seeing the potential in the boys and wish him and the Bati the best of luck in the upcoming tournament.”

2022 ‘Tabu Soro’ Medallist Meli Nasau is in the Extended Squad, joining the boys in training this week at Belmore Oval.

All three players were also members of the Sydney Roosters U/21’s Minor Premiership and Grand Final Squad.

Silktails Executive Director Stephen Driscoll was in attendance at the session conducted by Fiji Bati Assistant and Canterbury Bulldogs Coach Shane ‘Billy’ Millard.

Former Silktails Captain and Bulldogs player Peni Tagituimua also took part in the session with the Bati players permitted to train that fall outside of the RLPA NRL Top 35 No Train Policy. Tagituimua has also been listed in the Bati 20-man squad.

The full Fiji Bati Squad will depart for PNG on October 15 from Sydney.

Fiji Bati 20-man Squad

• Waqa Blake (Eels)
• Jahream Bula (Wests Tigers)
• Kurt Donoghoe (Dolphins)
• Kitione Kautoga (Bulldogs)
• Tui Kamikamica, capt. (Storm)
• Sirilo Lovokuro (Kaiviti Silktails)
• Taane Milne (Rabbitohs)
• Noah Nailagoliva (Knights)
• Caleb Navale (Sea Eagles)
• Jason Qareqare (Castleford Tigers)
• Mikaele Ravalawa (Dragons)
• Mesake Ravonu (Bulldogs)
• Apisalome Saukuru (Wests Tigers)
• Maika Sivo (Eels)
• Peni Tagituimua (Bulldogs)
• Sunia Turuva (Panthers)
• King Vuniyayawa (Salford Red Devils)
• Brandon Wakeham (Wests Tigers)
• Watisoni Waqanisaravi (Kaiviti Silktails)
• Gordon Whippy (Ipswich Jets)